San Diego diving recommendations needed

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Reaction score
# of dives
500 - 999
Hi, I'm new to ScubaBoard so hope I'm doing this right. I'm soon to travel to San Diego from the UK to join a liveaboard and will stay in San Diego for 4 days prior to boarding to adjust to the time zone etc. I am looking for recommendations for good high quality reliable safe PADI centres in San Diego. I hope someone can help. Many thanks.

Are you doing one of the Guadalupe White Shark trips? Just curious...

Pretty much everything about San Diego diving is here - Divebums - A San Diego Dive Website - especially in the local info section so I'll just touch on a few things to know. The signature shore dives are in the La Jolla area. For boat dives, the Point Loma Kelp beds are popular, there's a small wreck alley or day trips to Los Coronados on the US/Mexico border.

La Jolla Cove is extremely popular - on weekends parking is a problem after 8AM. IBDivers LaJolla is a good option for tanks nearby. Possibly guided dives also. La Jolla Shores is popular nearby as is the Marine Room.

Some of the shops they list are no longer there. All the PADI Sport Chalet's just closed permanently in the western US. Also I read somewhere that Dive California did also except for classes - shame as they were convenient if you were staying in Mission Beach/Bay. Ocean Enterprises is PADI if you need that for some specific reason - otherwise some of the shops left are NAUI.