Scubapro MK15 servicing question

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

bada3003

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
200 - 499
I'm a novice at servicing 1st stage regs and would appreciate advice on a SP MK15 that I recently got used from ebay. The seller had no info on recent service nor its working condition. However, it was cheap and hoped it might serve as a practice tool to hone my skills before I would work on my MK25 (new) and MK17 (used but recently serviced), eventually. I read Wolfinger's book (1st stage parts), got some SP tools from scubatools.com, and jumped right in.

It wasn't just for curiosity's sake: the reg had a problem. When I connected it to an AL80 tank, there was a noticeable leak with air exiting from the ambient ports. IP was showing 90-100 PSI so one possibility was a failed/missing o-ring that sealed off the wet ambient chamber from the two IP chambers. Disassembly using SP tools was straightforward. I wasn't able to find a MK15 repair manual online but was able to compare the parts during disassembly with the diagram in

10-600-000_mk15_rev_b.pdf

To my newbie eye, there were no missing pieces and the various o-rings (and parts) seemed to be in reasonable shape. Except, the backup ring of the piston which sits next to an o-ring in an o-ring groove below the head of the piston. I've attached a picture where a crack in the white backup ring (seems to be plastic) can be seen:

mk15-piston.jpg