Snorkels

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

I have little experience- I've only used four snorkels in my life- one or two days each.

Two were semi-dry with a purge in the bottom and a deflector at the top. One was open bore at the top with a purge in the bottom, and one is a J-tube.

My application is freediving where it's important to have an easy unrestricted inhale and a slow exhale.

The worst snorkel had a fairly restrictive baffle at the top. It was easy to keep dry because the baffle blocked most water from entering and the baffle created enough backpressure to make purging through the valve easy. It was horrible for a proper breathe up though because the baffle was too restrictive for a quick, easy inhale.

The next-worst was the open top with purge valve. Just blowing wouldn't clear it fully. I had to put my hand on top to create enough resistance for the purge valve to open and get the water out of the bottom.

The best so far? A simple J-tube combined with a new technique I learned last weekend. I complained of gargling salt water and Paul Kotik asked "Do you know the Hodgins Manouver?" I give a blank stare through my mask. He said just slowly exhale as you do a 360 degree roll toward the side your snorkel is on. I tried it and it drained every drop out without taking any precious energy or extra breath.
See Paul's article on the Hodgie: Water in Your Snorkel: What Is It Good For? Absolutely Nuthin!