sony hc-3 and light & motion housing

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Bismark

Contributor
Scuba Instructor
Reaction score
Hi,

I am new to UW video and I want a good quality system that can be used semi-professionaly and professionaly. Does anyone have experience with this system? Do I need to step up to the FX-1? Will the HC-3 end product be similar in quality to the FX-1 end product? I am not averse to spending the money but I am concerned with getting way over my head with the fx-1 system and I am wondering if the HC-3 set up will do the trick. Also, how is the quality of the HC-3 if you use it out of the water?

Thanks for any advice and tips.

Besides the video quality, are you considering the size difference ?

Yes. I have been involved in a lot of video work for various outdoor tv shows but this was all above the water and we used Canon XlS cameras. My understanding is the Sony FX-1 is similar in size to the canons but I have seen the HC-3 and that thing is tiny. I would guess the larger cameras and housings are much more stable underwater but that is one of the factors I am weighing at the moment. We want to get started and get familiar with underwater video but I don't want to just jump in the deep end so to speak with a 12-15k system and then decide after one month that we should have purchased something else.