Step by Step Bouyancy Technique

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

gnulab

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
200 - 499
Hi Divers,

I would to ask for some clarification and specific, step-by-step guidance what's the correct way to achieve motionless hovering while underwater.

I am still a newbie, logged only 19 dives and I have only been with 2 different DM all these while.

I know that the 1st step in achieving good bouyancy is to find the correct amount of weight we need, followed by the correct trim. Also, even those who could remain motionless, strictly speaking they are bobbing up & down, except the distance travelled is only within 10cm range (my guess), is that right?

This is the 1st DM explanation:
1. Exhale completely & empty the air in BCD at the surface in order to descent.
2. Then, at the bottom, inhale completely (BCD is completely empty of air at this point).
3. Depend entirely on our lung to control our bouyancy.
However, I think there is a flaw. When say you're at 18m, inhale 6 liters of air, exhale 6 liters of air. When I want to ascend to & maintain at 12m, I have to inhale 6 liters, and exhale 3 liters. Since my lung is acting as a bouyancy "device", it must maintain 3 liters of air in order to maintain my dept at 12m. But then again, our body requires 6 liters of air to function properly, so how is that method possible? (figures are arbitrary)

Another DM told me I should repeat the fin pivot.
1. Exhale completely & empty the air in BCD at the surface in order to descent.