Sudafed

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

AquaTec

Contributor
Scuba Instructor
Reaction score
# of dives
Hey Doc
I have been diving for many years with thousands of dives, most of which include a couple of sudafeds, as I tend to be suseptable to allergies I tend to keep them around.
I have heard that you shouldn't take drugs and dive, put it has always been a generic quotation.

break it down into two answers please

What specificly can be a problem with Sudafeds and recreational diving if any?

how about deep diving 300 ft+?

My instructor also recommended Sudafed as long as it was taken right... Here's his theory:

Four hours of relief, one Sudafed...

30 minutes prior to diving
45-60 minutes down
60 minutes surface interval
45-60 minutes down

Do a search. There was some good discussion on this topic awhile back.

Murdock325,

Different people will have different reactions to Sudafed. When I take a four-hour Sudafed, it wears off in less than four hours. Your instructor's theory could leave me with a reverse block (something I never, ever want to experience in the water. . . it can hurt bad enough during a gentle ascent in an airplane). I'd take a 12 hour Sudafed.

in any event, what is most important is how the medication affects you.

Sudafed puts me to sleep reliably enough I could use it for insomnia. :snooze: The box can say non-drowsy, or anything else, but I won't take it and dive. Sleeping with the fishes just isn't a good thing. :drown:

Originally posted by Drew Sailbum