Suunto zoop vs genesis resource pro

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Joe the plumber

Registered
Reaction score
Trying to pick between these 2 computers. Suunto zoop 2 gauge console or Genesis resource pro console. Anyone have any thoughts with either?

I have no experience with the Genesis but did own and would recommend a Gekko (older Zoop basically) for some years, I really liked it, very simple to use, cheap, reliable, battery lasted forever, robust, has user changeable battery and will fit a DSS bungee mount, I prefer to wear my computers wrist mounted.

Thanks for the reply. Looking to see about the Genesis because my LDS says that the zoop is too conservative and that the Genesis is a better computer.

Thanks for the reply. Looking to see about the Genesis because my LDS says that the zoop is too conservative and that the Genesis is a better computer.

Many people say that but in all the years I've been using Suuntos I've never really noticed. Does your LDS sell Suuntos or only Genesis?

I've dove a Suunto Mosquito for 12 years and sure, they are more conservative. For example planning a dive for 90' will tell you 22 minutes instead of 25 minutes.

Here's a more annoying one though. It'll also calculate EANx MODs 'wrong'.

An example is it'll tell you the MOD for 32% @1.4ppo2 is 107'. It should be 112'. They take 5' off to be conservative.