Tech diving cardiologists don't grow on trees +

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Amazz

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
2500 - 4999
When you find one, you have to grab him. The web isn't the best place to share personal medical information. But it helped me tremendously, so I'll share my very dive related medical story in case it can help others.

I'm a good diver. I'm a safe diver. I'm a smart diver. I'm an educated person. I also work as a divemaster on weekends at Jupiter Dive Center. I have suffered from skin bends over the years. I have also had more serious pulmonary issues and visual disturbances after diving. I regularly dive rather deep profiles of 70-90 ft for 45 minutes and sling up to 40 tanks after diving. I have had many unexpected DCS hits over the years and never went to the chamber because everything was pretty much resolved over several hours. Stupid, but let's not go there. I started researching PFO in December 2007 and was pretty much convinced there had to be a relation there. Finally after a more serious hit in May (still didn't go to the chamber) I decided to proceed and try to get an answer. I started with my primary care physician which was a total mistake and waste of time. He's not a diver and really didn't understand a thing I was trying to tell him. After a quick phone call, I discovered that Dr. Doug Ebersole, Cardiologist, tech diver, rebreather instructor, SB member, accepted my insurance. I had my Red Sea trip coming so I scheduled my exam with him right after I got back. I s