Underwater camera advice

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

anacris

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
0 - 24
Hi,

I live in Brazil and I'm open water certified with a few diving, most of them in Brazilian coast. Although I like photography, I have no experience in underwater photos. I'm interested on buying a camera and housing and I saw a post on ScubaBoard Forum that recomended a Canon G12 or S95.

I'll be in Miami in May for a 2 days diving. I already found some stores that sell the Canon G12 but I need the underwater housing too.

I have some qustions:
_ is the Canon G12 a good choice, considering my little experience?
_ where can I find the underwater housing in Miami Beach area?
_ the Ikelite housing is better than the Canon?

tks

From my experience with the G11 I do recommend the housing sold through Canon. It is relatively inexpensive and a solid design. You could then buy a strobe and a wet lens. Ikelite is good, but I think the canon underwater case is just as good and much cheaper.

You could end up getting the entire set for just about $1,000 which is very inexpensive for a dive setup.

Since you are new to diving (few dives) just a few things to keep in mind:
1) Make sure you really like to dive before investing in expensive equipment. If you find out on dive 10 that you really don't like scuba...well in addition to the training money, you spent a lot of money on equipment. Obviously if you are in love with this sport then go at it :)