Upgrade S80 to G11 - Is it worth it??

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

khsjsilver

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
200 - 499
Let me first say that I am not a professional photog. I am really a point & shoot guy. I just like to take pictures on my dives. I've rarely ever changed the setting on my camera from "auto" with the "underwater" setting.

I have been using a Canon S80 with the Canon housing for a number of years and have been very happy with it. I don't really want to lug around strobes even though I know they would probably improve my shots. I also use the S80 as my out of the water camera as well.

I have the opportunity to buy a new G11 for $259 plus the cost of the underwater housing. All told it would probably cost me about $475 to upgrade.

Is it worth spending the money for the upgrage? Will my underwater and out-of-the-water shots be that much better?

Your advise if very welcomed!

Thanks,

Ken

Ken,

I have the G11 with an Ikelite Housing and an Ike Strobe. I like the outfit quite a bit. On shore I use a fairly advanced DSLR.

The G11 is the most advanced point and shoot that Canon makes. It is the camera that DSLR owners use when they can not have their DSLR. After owning a DSLR, I have found the controls on the G11 pretty accessible.