Vomiting at end of dives

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

DrWScott

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
25 - 49
I am a relative newbie with around 45 dives under my belt and have completed Advanced Open Water certification. At about the 30th dive I started vomiting at depth, toward the end of my dives. I have tried every recommendation given to me, but even as late as last night I was spewing at the end of the 2nd tank. Here's what I have noticed and done to prevent this:
-Always post 45 minutes into dive on 2nd tank of a 2 tank dive. Never on 1st of a 2 tank dive.
-Never on a short dive - less than 40 minutes.
-I have vomited at depths between surface and 50 ft.
-Doesn't matter if the tank is steel or aluminum, air or Nitrox, personal or rented.
-Often worse at surface when waiting for the boat to pick me up.
-Never get sick on the boat, even in 5-6 ft waves.
-Doesn't matter if stomach is full or empty.
-Doesn't matter if I take my oral meds for diabetes or not.
-I drink a lot of water before dives and during surface interval.
-Tried taking and chewing ginger.
-I am now up to 75mg of meclizine before dive and still vomiting at end of 2nd dive.

Some other potentially contributing factors:
-I am an insulin dependent diabetic.
-I have a history of motion sickness in cars.
-I battled with an extreme case of vertigo about 7 years ago after a minor surgery, and only experience it now slightly when I lean backwards.