Vyper interface problems

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Jai Bar

Contributor
Scuba Instructor
Reaction score
# of dives
None - Not Certified
I have been using for several months a DIY interface (designed by "el-ninio" a member of this forum :) ) on a computer running under Windows XP. Everything worked smoothly without any problems. Last week I tried to download a new diving series but surprise- SDM cannot detect the computer on any of the port. In the beginning I thought it was a problem in the interface (after all, I am not a DIY wizard) but I plugged it to a friend's computer with NT4 and it works excellent..

Has anyone had any problems like this with XP? Any suggestions? Perhaps some other program conflicts with the COM port? I tried to change ports, increased timeouts etc. but nothing helped :(

check any devices that are plugged into the computer such as palms. Even though they use the usb port, they often end up occupying the com port as well and effectively blocking the software from finding the interface. If all else fails, you should back up your dives and try reinstalling divemanager. This has been the case with a few of my customers.
jamie

Did anyone find the reason for this problem?

I have an original Suunto interface for my Cobra and had no problems logging dives with my old PC a while ago. At that timeI used SDM 1.1.