Weight difficulties and fin positioning

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

rhelmy

Reaction score
I am a newbie and I have been practicing proper weighting at every dive I have done so far. So far, I have fight to start descending. After 10 ft, I start descending easily. At the surface, I exhale all my breath and breath shallow while using my arms to push me down. At 10ft, I start to desend easier.

I am in fresh water, using a 2 piece 7mm wetsuit, with booties, no hood. My tank is an AL80 filled to 2800psi. At the surface with only 500psi on the tank, no air in the BC, I will float at eye level. I am using 26 lbs of lead. With no air in my lungs I will sink about a foot and stop. When I breath in I go to the surface. At this weight, When I get below 10 feet, I start to descend easily. When I get 30 ft, I feel like I am overweighted, as it takes several adjustments of air in the BC to become neutral.

If I go to 30 lbs, I descend from the surface easier, but after 10 feet, I start descending faster than I think I should. (I could be wrong, I am a newbie)

I understand that the wetsuit will compress, thereby making me less boyaunt (I am guy, cannot spell).

The other situation I have is my fins, When I descend my legs start to bend and my fins get behind me causing me to lose my balance. What is the best position for my fins to be aimed towards.