Wet lens

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

ScubaJoy65

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
1000 - 2499
Forgive my naivete, but I'm still learning. I keep reading the term wet lens. I've Googled it and can't seem to find out what it means. Can someone enlighten me?

Thank you,
Joy

I think it means that you can put it on and take it off underwater.......

The Ike W20 wide angle lens is a wet lens.....

Hope this helps.....M

"Wet Lenses" is a term mostly used for the macro adapters that DSLR users put in front of the macro port of their housings, it is normally attached around the port with a lens that can be conveniently placed in front of the housing or removed while underwater to magnify the maximum amplification factor.

Something like these:
ReefNet SubSee Adapter
Macro Mate

But it can more widely be applied to any lens/adapter that is designed to be used with "water" in between the adapter itself and the camera, like some compact cameras WA and macro adapters. These are normally called simply WA or Macro adapter...

"Wet Lenses" is a term mostly used for the macro adapters that DSLR users put in front of the macro port of their housings, it is normally attached around the port with a lens that can be conveniently placed in front of the housing or removed while underwater to magnify the maximum amplification factor.

Something like these:
ReefNet SubSee Adapter
Macro Mate