Wetsuit in Aruba?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

SkipperJohn

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
25 - 49
I have been snorkeling in Aruba for around 10 years now and plan on finally getting my certification this year. My plan is to finish up here in NY (CW & classroom) then do the OW in Aruba. Normally I snorkel there in nothing more than a bathing suit. For diving, will I need or should I get a wetsuit? I have been told that the temperature of the water down below is considerably cooler so a 3 mil suit should be the minimum. Also, someone who isn't familiar with Aruba advised using one for protection. I don't yet know what the OW dives will entail but if I need a suit I would like to buy one (someone I know pointed out that while it's OK to rent all other equipment (except the mandatory fins, mask and snorkel) he opts to buy his own suit as the thought of renting one that someone else may have relieved himself in the day before bothered him... hmmm...).
Anyway, if I need one I will buy it. Do you guys recommend one?
Also, I have an angle on the 3/4 mill suit. 3 mill in the arms and legs and 4 in the torso. Is this a good idea? I can get it brand new for half price.

On a side note, is 3 mil suit (or the 3/4 suit) usable in the NY area in the summer? I live in NY and if I can get away with 1 suit that would be awesome (but somehow I think this is asking too much).