Why my images appear bluish and do underwater mode helps?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

royneoky

New
Reaction score
Hi, I’m Roy. I'm new to underwater photography and really love it yet my experience was rather bad as all my pictures took, appear bluish or greenish and sometimes blur yet at times the colors was great and at times even the object was colorful but it appears only blue or green.

Recently I bought a Canon G11 for my underwater shooting, previously during shooting I used my friend Canon Cam and was using the underwater mode (auto) provided by Canon. I owned a Nikon D90 too and have bits of knowledge on shutter speed, aperture or ISO, appreciate if you would advice me on what should be done in order to get a better image.

Example what mode will be better during underwater shooting and hopefully to capture the color of the object, just a short brief will be greatly appreciated.

By the way using underwater mode for Canon G11 is for what purpose? What are the different using that mode?

Thanks!

As you go deeper in the water, you lose more color. Reds and Yellows go first, resulting in the blue/green colors of your pictures.

You can fix this in several ways. You can do macro photography, using your built in flash. Yu can use a red filter. Or you can get some strobes.