Wonderful Raja Ampat Trip

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Andywat

New
Reaction score
# of dives
200 - 499
We spent Christmas and New Year in Raja Ampat, it was wonderful.
We were on board the MV Ambai (Wallacea Dive Cruises) and had a spectacular time.
I have been working in Indonesia (Southern Sumatra) for many years now and I was thrilled to find a part of Indonesia that was so untouched.
We were met at the airport in Sorong, West Papua and taken to the boat by dive dinghy. She is a majestic traditionally made wooden 100+ footer with 8 spacious double berths, designed for divers with Nitrox capability.
We started in the South around Misool, it was wonderful to see such an extent of untouched marine habitat, football fields of corals, like taking a stroll in an underwater garden. The dive sites were varied with most terminating in shallow reef areas of spectacular color. Crew were great, food good and the cabins were very comfortable with spacious bathrooms.
One of the highlights was our encounters with the Manta Rays, watching them pause and be cleaned at a cleaning station and also free swimming with them as they fed on the surface.
image.tiff

I hope this will remain the same for many years to come so others may enjoy its pristine beauty and enchanting innocence.

Hi Andywat,