Worried about mask rescue and recovery

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

First, there's no reason to do it. I've been teaching for quite a few years and I've never had a student who couldn't master no mask breathing using the methods I described.

Second, it teaches bad habits. Why teach someone to pinch their nose, then teach them not to pinch their nose?

Walter,
First of all we are not speaking as equals - you know far more about diving/teching than I'll ever know ... but!

I posted a message a few weeks ago about having a mask removal phobia. I searched the net and found your advice by far the best and I am actively trying out your ideas in the safety of my bathtub!

That said, pinching the nose can be useful practically - you have your mask and snorkel at the bottom of the tub. You dip your face in the water and pick up the snorkel and exhale - if you do it wrong a bubble bounces off the bottom of the bath and up towards and in your nose - your mask is still at the bottom of the tub. Now I could raise my head or try to cope with the discomfort - guess what I do ? Yep if that's bad I pinch my nose with one hand and concentrate on breathing then I let go of my hand and put the mask on. A clear silicon strap in clear bathwater is a little problematic but I am getting used to having to keep my head under and dealing with the situation.