Any tips on how to get on dive boat with people of same skill level?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

This is why I have been diving with Tres Pelicanos for the last 11 years, they allow you to dive your tank and do not require the group to surface together. Provide you have demonstrated that you know what your doing they allow you latitude. If a diver lacks experience or wants to stay close to the DM the DM is there to lead and assist the divers. I normally see the DM as I leave the boat and then when I get back on.
I do strongly recommend that when drift diving the diver carry a buoy and know how to deploy it, safely
I agree with the above. I've been very happy with the flexibility 3P gives me/ other divers on their boats.

We put a second DM on the boat, we only have one boat. I won't name the other operation but they do the same thing, heck sometimes I wonder if they have any space for customers on the boat with all the DM's jajajaja.

We are small and we are newer so it hasn't really been hard to deal with - Martin will take the deeper group, I take the shallow group - we generally meetup as the deep group comes shallow and then I take anyone up to the surface early, everyone is happy.

It can become an issue at some sites though and we have not had this happen yet but we would seperate the groups on two boats..... I'm a diver too

Although I'm very happy with 3P, I'm always interested in other shops... what shop are you with?