Cold Water Regs. - Lake Michigan

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

utiladude

Reaction score
# of dives
25 - 49
Cold Water Regs. - Lake Michigan
I'm fairly new to diving (21 dives) last Sep. 2008 on 70F day I had my first free flow and run out of air very fast (90 ft) , my buddy shared his octo with me and we got out fine.
My question is about cold water regs, several experienced divers tell me that
most regs are fine for Lake Michigan and my LDS rents non-cold water regulators
for lake Michigan diving and they tell me they never have a problem with them.
Do I need to buy a SP'MK17/250v', AL'Legend', Mares "Abyss"... or I can stil use my Oceanic GT3?
I was told that I got a free flow because I started breathing thru the reg. before
hitting water; I'm not plannig to do ice diving, Lake Michigan in Jun.-Oct. is cold
enough for me.
Thanks !
Utiladude

Kudos for handling the free flow incident. Many people panic and we have lost many divers due to this.

Shouldn't matter if you pre-breathed the reg on the surface. As long as the air temps weren't below freezing. I'm not all familiar with Oceanic in cold water. But the Aqualung, Apeks, or Mares should be fine. SP's are hit and miss. I know some people how use them with no freeflows, but I get more than my share of free flows from my SP deco regs. I've had no free flows with my Apeks.

Have fun on the lake.