Color Correction Filter

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

DaFireMedic

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
50 - 99
I am new to underwater videography, but have been doing topside videography/editing for a while now. I have been reading up on underwater color correction and trying to learn everything that I can. I dive Southern California waters mainly, and it seems a red filter is what is used here. As far as a red filter goes, does it have to be a red filter made for underwater videography or can other resources, such as red gels be used, or even red tinted lexan (I know, its a stretch). I have even seen Tiffen "color conversion" filters in red colors that are far less expensive.

Are underwater filters a highly specialized tint of red? Underwater filters seem to be relatively expensive and this is strictly a hobby for me that I am testing the waters in (no pun intended).

I know, I am sending my $1200 camcorder underwater in a housing, whats an extra $100 for a filter? Well, I will spend it if necessary, but I have just about tapped out my "fun fund" and the wife wants new flooring so I am exploring every avenue....

Thanks.....

which housing do you have??? Most housings come with a removable red filter or built in filter with a flip switch. I can't think of too many without a filter these days. Most are a thick plastic/acrylic.