Curacao diving Oct 2016

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

scubabuba1944

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
500 - 999
Hurricane Matthew took out some piers so a drive to the marina was necessary to get on the boats. For six days I did both shore and boat dives. I have been diving Curacao for over 25 yrs, fish population has declined, especially large fish such as grouper, now now none. For the first time in my 30 yrs of diving I saw locals using a seine net several hundred yards long in a bay near a beach collecting fish from boats and divers maintaining the net. Some locals fish the reefs on occasions but this was sad to see. While places like Cozumel ban fishing on their reefs, Curacao takes a pass. It will affect their tourism in time. Next time I will probably go to Bonaire. Flight connections to Bonaire are limited from the US.

Where were you diving? Did you make it out to Westpunt and was this your experience there?

Where were you diving? Did you make it out to Westpunt and was this your experience there?
Yes, I did get out there, saw a few turtles. Again fish population seems down because of local fishing. There are things to see and I love the island and the locals, just disappointed with the management of the reefs.

Heading to Cur 1st of the year for our 1st trip there. Will post a report and will be interesting to see how it compares to Bon and elsewhere.