DCS incident in NC

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

jeadiver

Contributor
Scuba Instructor
Reaction score
Hello All:

I had a dive accident a couple of weeks ago and wanted to be sure to post it so that others can learn from it. First, a little background on me as a diver. I have been diving for about 15 years and have almost 500 dives in my log book. I own all of my own equipment, have it serviced annually and tested it in the quarry before actually diving it in the ocean.

Two weeks ago I was diving the ledges off of the Wilmington coast on a spearing/lobstering dive trip. The weather was very good as the winds were minimal, waves were in the 2' range and it was very hot. The dives were excellent, although visibility was limited on the bottom and a 10 degree thermocline existed at about 75' for all dives during the weekend.

Saturday we did two dives, both in the 110' range, and stayed within the limits of my computer. The dives went normally and no problems were detected. After an early night, Sunday's dives went off without a hitch. Depths were about the same, I stayed within the limits of the computer and had no problems during the dives. About 10 minutes after surfacing from the final dive on Sunday, my fingers began to tingle. After another 10 minutes, my arms started to go numb from my finger tips to my elbows. At about that time, I figured out something might be amiss.