Do I use Filters or my GoPro or do I use Protune...?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

jebsurf

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
0 - 24
Ok first off I'm new to video above or underwater so please bare with me. About me: The wife and I are certified diver's and the wife and I have planed a vacation to the Bahamas which we want to dive while we're there and capture it on a GoPro. I just went out and bought the GoPro Hero+ for $299.99 (can be seen here GoPro - HERO+ LCD HD Waterproof Action Camera). The reason I choose that camera was the simplicity of it. I have NO video taking or editing background what so ever. I DO have the Adobe Master collection so as I do have the tools to edit video, its all a foreign language to me at this point. Now that being said I'm really torn on what I should do. Of course I want to maximize the best video quality to capture this once in a lifetime vacation, but then again I don't want to shoot it in a setting like protune where it will be flat and then I can't figure out how to edit it! From some of the knowledge I've gathered so far you can do one of two things. 1. You can either shoot the camera just like it is with proton on and it will come out flat and you can edit it later on to make the colors pop or 2. If you aren't that into editing or don't have an editing background, shoot with a red filter to make the colors pop. Also I do NOT want grain'y video. I know it can be edited out some and I know the further you go down the more ambient light you loose which causes the grain'y