Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Collin O'Brien

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
100 - 199
Hello!

I am fairly new to diving and was hoping you all with far more experience and knowledge would be able to help me out. I have a few questions. One is, which company has better quality gear and warranty should anything happen when it comes to BP/W, OMS or Halcyon Dive Systems? I have been renting a Halcyon set-up recently and have had a good experience, it is just so expensive when compared to even high end Jacket BC or other BP/W set ups.

I am also a little confused on what specs to get as I am looking for a set-up I can use in both deep water New England diving and warm water Caribbean diving. Although I guess this could be solved with 2 different BP but I would like to save the money. But first some background:
  • I am 6’3 200lbs and dive in New England with a 7/5mm ScubaPro Everflex wetsuit, 5mm hood/gloves/boots.
  • I have been renting a Halcyon AL plate w/ 32lb wing and HP Steel 100 tanks.
  • When in salt water I have only really needed 8 extra pounds.
  • When in freshwater I have not needed any weight added at all.
So my questions would be should I go with the Steel BP or Aluminum BP? If I go Steel BP and went to the Caribbean would it become too negatively buoyant to manage with a thinner suit and less gear?