Help to identify and advise on an older Poseidon regulator

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

OP
F

Fitzgig

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
0 - 24
I have scanned the board but have not found the definitive answer. I am a noob- so it could be inexperience. Apologies in advance.

My sister gifted me her old Poseidon regulator and the only thing I know is that they are nearly impossible to get serviced in the US - but that they are well manufactured. Can someone help me identify and advise me on whether it is worth the difficulty /expense to have it repaired? @rsingler seems to be THE guy to ask, but any advice is valued. Sounds stupid, but I would like to use them in the future in my sister’s memory. I think the manufacture date is 1996, back when she was a healthy vibrant dive master……

Attachments

• IMG_7066.jpeg
    IMG_7066.jpeg
    82.3 KB · Views: 90
  • IMG_7068.jpeg
    IMG_7068.jpeg
    100.2 KB · Views: 85
  • IMG_7069.jpeg
    IMG_7069.jpeg
    101.1 KB · Views: 90
  • IMG_7058.jpeg
    IMG_7058.jpeg
    171.7 KB · Views: 86
The Jetstream 3960 is a fine, bulletproof regulator -- I have a few myself -- and can be readily serviced, at @rsingler and elsewhere; that supposed "impossibility" of getting service, being a bit of a popular myth -- and was the first model with a built-in over-pressure valve (that "port" on the bottom) which finally allowed for common LP hoses to be used, rather than earlier proprietary, more expensive versions with an integral OPV.

Get it serviced and get wet . . .