I know this is a total newbie question BUT...

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Buccaneer once bubbled...

Well, explain this: On regualr air you are using, say asingle aluminum 80 tank. But w/ Nitrox you are using TWO alum 80 tanks (one Oxy/one nitro) so with those two tanks being mixed, would n't you get more down time over using the single tank? I realize the mixture isn't 50/50 but still...you are working w/ 160 cu ft of gases over just 80?

or am I wrong altogether? when I see someone diving w/ 2 tanks I just assume one is oxygen and the other is nitrogen, or are you diving w/ it pre mixed and put into one bottle?:confused:

Nitorx can be used in any tank(as long as it is O2 cleaned) whether it is a set of 120 steel doubles or a 10 cu pony. Also when using doubles it is not oxygen in tank Nitrogen in the other. The gases are mixed together basically by filling the tank with air and then topping it off with the right amount of oxygen to get the desired mix(very oversimplified explanantion). Hope that explains it a little better for you.

*Doubles for nitrox with one tank for oxygen and the other nitro...*?!!?
Nitrox is pre-blended.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
*Blending nitrox by first filling with air and then topping with O2...*?!!?
That's backwards.

Take the class!