Love Your Job? Tell Me About It!

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Quarrior

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
100 - 199
Hi All,

As a holiday season present my employer offered me the opportunity to find a new source of income, better known as a RIF. Anyway, I've been doing the same work for 20 years and frankly, I'm burned out on it. So, I'm looking at finding a new field to work in.

Other than those working as Dive Instructors, DMs or in diving fields that require years of specilized experience and/or a specialized degree. What kind of work do you that you love to do? Tell me about it in some detail if you don't mind. I'm looking for ideas of fields to research.

If you don't want to give details here, feel free to PM me.

Brian

Yeah, I love my job.... 27 years in a tire factory, humping it on the night shift, 2 1/2 years short of retirement, and as of 12/19 they are closing up shop while saying, "don't let the door hit you in the a__ on the way out", and trying to screw us out of our benefits at the same time. Yeah, I LOVE MY JOB.

JOB - Just Over Broke, start your own thing, why work for some other A@#$.

If you don't mind my asking, what are your current qualifications and experience. I ask because it will make it easier to suggest something that won't require extensive retraining.