NDL Stop Requirements / Rescue

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

arthurmnev

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
200 - 499
I just started studying for my rescue class and have a question to people that might have had experience rescue situation while in NDL

To set the baseline:
- a stop is a good idea
- a deep stop might be a good idea
- popping out like a champagne cork is never a good choice
- computers and charts have a good amount of safety built in

the question is: how likely is it to get DCS on ascent rates 0.5 - 1' / sec without a safety stop from ~80 or so feet while inside your NDL limits? Obviously nobody would do it without a good reason, but a person in trouble would likely qualify as one. Hence choices are:

- if possible, inflate their BCD and send them up
- Bring them up manually without a stop (obviously if he / she is not breathing, two (worst case) damaged divers is better than one dead)
- Bring them up with a stop (dont add another victim) and hope cold (relatively) water preserves them

Naturally, some of the decisions are based on how close the chamber is, but assuming a few hours away -- how measurable is the risk of going up fast, with no stop while inside of NDL?

I think you should wait until the instructor does his course and if there are any questions afterwards, either ask him/her or post again.

For me to answer ahead of your instructor would not be doing him/her any favours at this stage.

But it's good that you're already thinking :)