Need advice

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Alain

Reaction score
Hi!
My wife and I will be visiting Grand Cayman at the beginning of July. We plan on staying for 2 weeks (it's our 10th wedding anniversary trip!) For one of our weeks, we will be staying at the "Grand Caymanian Golf Resort" located on North Sound. The on-site dive operation is "Cayman Divers Ltd" which was recently opened by Don Foster. My wife and I have very little diving experience and have never been to the Cayman Islands. Can anyone recommend "Cayman Divers Ltd" or should we be looking for another dive operation? Any other advice that will help make our trip an awesome experience would be greatly appreciated.

NB - Our diving trips will be very expensive since we also have to rent some equipment and the Canadian exchange rate is a killer. We read some of the comments on the forum concerning tipping. How much should we be tipping and exactly who do we tip?

Alain,

I should warn you that I am probably considered politically incorrect when it comes to the Caymans because my experience there did not meet with my expectations or others' experiences; hence, I usually preface any comments on the Caymans with the old Latin phrase the gladiators murmured prior to entering the arena: "Ave Caesar, morituri te salutant!" (Hail, Caesar, we who are about to die salute you!")