Need wetsuit & totally overwhelmed ...

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

dtbriten

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
500 - 999
I've been diving with a Henderson Gold Core for several years now in waters ranging from 78 and up. Recently did the Solmar in Sea of Cortez and had to rent another layer. Am planning on Belize this February (Liveaboard) and noticed that the water temps can be as low as 73. Brrr. My problem. I live in MA in the boonies and there are few dive shops. To complicate that I am 5' 2" tall and what dive shops we do have only carry suits for "bigger" people. So I am stuk with ordering online. I'm trying to make the right decision the first time so I don't pay postage about 5 times!! My needs and questions:
1. I need a wetsuit that will fit a woman with small arms and shoulders. Of course the hips and waist need a bit more room. Wetsuit makers seem to think woman are shaped like mannequins. :11: I thought about the hyperstretch but heard that they aren't as warm at depth???
2. I want to wear a hood cause I get cold easily. Am confused on which combo to do.. 5mm with hooded vest or core warmer with vest.. or 7 mm with bibbed hood.. aurghhh
3. And then... the ultimate and most important.. What is the state of the art at present. I looked into the AquaSuede by Henderson. Supposedly the best of all worlds... hyperstretch, instant dry, and gold core lining for easy donning, but I can only find it in 3mm.
Anyway... as you can see.. I don't know what to get or where to start. Any advice?