New Shearwater Dive Modes.

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Pavao

Contributor
Reaction score
Let’s preface this by saying I’ve been diving Shearwater computers for over 13 years, and I don’t think there are better dive computers.

The new Perdix 2 has 3 new dive modes that makes me scratch my head, “Air mode”, “Nitrox single gas” and “Nitrox 3 gas”, this is the sort of thing we see on just about any dive computer manufacturer out there, I’d call these recreational “wanna be” technical dive computers, they’re just regular computers with 3 gas capability but sucks at decompression diving.

I thought the industry was done with this “Air mode” thing too, pretty much everyone just understood that leaving the mix at 21% is “Air mode”, but then here comes Shearwater with it.

This being present anywhere else I wouldn’t question it, but if Shearwater does it, makes me pause to think, have I not understood this whole thing? It’s like when they started supplying surgical tubing for straps for their computers, I understood bungee cord to be far superior than surgical tubing, but if shearwater was sending out their computers with surgical tubing, I went, woah, what do they know about them that I don’t? Why not supply the computers with bungee? I mean, it’s shearwater, they know what they’re doing, right? It’s not engineers with little dive experience producing subpar dive gear pushed to the market by the marteking department of a large corporation manufacturer.
But it isn’t, bungee is far superior than surgical tubing.