New to diving - first reg purchase recommendations

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Reaction score
# of dives
0 - 24
I’m new to diving, recently certified and looking for regulator recommendations. Will mostly be diving in warmer waters while on trips a few times a year. Looking at the aqua lung legend lx supreme (twilight version) or the atomic B2 or M1, unsure on DIN vs yoke. Any insight, experience with either, or tips would be amazing.

If traveling to warmer waters, Yoke is much more available. I'd go with B2 sealed first stage and never have to worry about it. M1 is best choice if you are going towards technical diving or very cold water. I own most Atomic models (Z2, M1, B2, ST1 and Tx) :)

I was in your fins 15 years and 350 dives ago. My diving has mostly been warm water vacation destinations flying from Nor Cal. I got my first gear from Scubatoys.com with a package similar to the one below. I am still diving the Zeagle BC Brigade.
Best Bang for the Buck Package - BC and Reg Packages - Scuba Equipment Dive Gear Best Prices

I now dive the Atomic Z2x reg, which has been upgraded to the Z3. Exlnt reg. Go with a yoke, unless you will be diving your own tanks or doing a lot of diving in Europe.

I have an M1 set in DIN. I take a yoke adapter on all Caribbean trips and have yet to see a dive op with DIN tanks. My wife has a sealed B2 set and loves it but it is also DIN. I figured if we do more diving in Canada where we live, and have access to DIN tanks, it's nice to have.

Get Yoke