Shearwater Peregrine -Altitude Diving

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Litefoot

Contributor
Reaction score
I’m new to diving and new to dive computers. I have a new Peregrine and most of my local diving will be above 5000’ elevation. I know the computer will save barometric pressure readings every so often and then use these as the new baseline or surface pressure at the start of a dive. And I assume that it will save this reading as you ascend to calculate safety stops and then begin the End of Dive countdown when your pressure drops back down to the saved pressure at the start of the dive. Sound right?

Okay, then here’s the dumb question. How does the computer know when to start the dive at altitude? I know it turns on automatically when it detects an increase in pressure at sea level. Is there a way to manually start the dive?

A dive is started when the pressure increases X mbar from its current estimate of surface pressure. (X equates to about 90 mbar or 3 fsw.) No, you can't "force it". In short, everything is automatic. :)

Attachments

• 5110D842-94FE-47A0-83BD-F483E7281C68.jpeg
    5110D842-94FE-47A0-83BD-F483E7281C68.jpeg
    85.5 KB · Views: 94