Sherwood Brut Vs Cressi Ellipse Titanium/compact Mc 9

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

elora_c

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
25 - 49
Hi,

I'm a novice diver (28 dives, certified OW and AOW 2 years ago, dive once or twice a year) looking to get my first set of gear. After visiting several dive shops over the past week, I've learned more about regulators than I ever did before. I'm a warm water diver, so don't need a sealed 1st stage. I tend to do wall dives where I go, so I will typically do an 80-100' dive and then a shallower dive. I've pretty much narrowed it down to either the Sherwood Brut or the Cressi. The shop that sells the Cressi quoted me the Ellipse Titanium. But after doing some research, it seems like that one is discontinued and now there is the Compact MC 9? I have a small mouth, so the concept of a smaller regulator is appealing. But, I can't find reviews for the Cressi regulator (except for Scuba Lab's review) whereas the Brut seems to get excellent reviews. I'm hoping to keep the regulator + octo to <$500 (which is why the third store's recommendation of the Aqua Lung Core didn't make it). Is one of these better than the other for the type of diving I do? Since my life is dependent on this piece of equipment, I am willing to increase the budget if there are significant disadvantages to either of these (reliability, comfort, ease of use).

Thanks,
Carole