The LDS and Manufacturer relationship? Long

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Scott M

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
100 - 199
I am new to diving so I have little to offer in that respect, other than if you can afford it, "get private lessons".

I do however know a little about the manufacturer/wholesale/retail business.

My thoughts:

First off, if I was in the dive shop retail game I would be livid at the treatment they get from the manufacturers. If your in the business, you can not believe for one minute that the manufacturers are not supplying LeisurePro (or others) with their gear either directly or indirectly. It is simply impossible to move that amount of equipment without the manu. knowing about. The manu.'s have simply found a way to enter into an agreement with the LDS's and break that agreement at the same time. How hard to you suppose it would be to track an item (any item) with todays technology the smallest item could be traced back to the mine in which the ore was taken from. How hard do you figure it would be to track a dive computer for example?

Do you seriously believe that LP has no warrantee from the manu., do you think they simply eat every problem?