DIR- GUE wetsuit -> drysuit transition timing

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

overthinking_diver

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
100 - 199
I took fundamentals last week, improved a ton but didn't pass. There's a detailed explanation of my struggles here - DIR- GUE - Finding teammates after failing fundamentals

My goal right now is to dive as much as possible. I live in the Northeast US so diving during a large portion of the year requires a drysuit. I have no experience in a drysuit so I'll be starting from scratch. I'm really tempted to take the drysuit primer as it'll open so much diving opportunity for me. On the other hand, I'm hesitant adding a new major(?) piece ot equipment to my configuration right after not passing a class.

So do you recommend focusing on getting a stable platform with a wetsuit first and then switching, or should I just switch and never look back?

Also, is the GUE primer a good first experience with a drysuit or should I get some experience elsewhere first?

I switched and never looked back. That said, if the water isn't too cool, I prefer the flexibility of movement in a wetsuit.

I would do the drysuit primer, then work on your other skills in the config you will use the most, that being a drysuit, due to your local conditions.

I started diving a drysuit 5 years ago and it is my go to all year. Big thing with a drysuit is that you get one that fits you properly and does not limit your mobility.