I shall do it MY WAY syndrome

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Ronald K

Registered
Reaction score
Hello folks, I'm relatively new to diving and I like to dive not merely when on holidays but also in the weekends, so I like to buy my own gear.
I'm actually trying to find a satisfactory setup that will both suit diving in Holland as well as warm waters, let's say Mediterranean Sea.
There is one thing I consider important and that is having two first stages.
The setup that suits this is a single tank rig with two second stages and a staged second tank on the left side. This means I can use the stage for bail out and normally breathe from the main (back mounted) tank. It means also that I constantly have to be sure that the bail out is functioning and that I have only one second stage to get to the surface in a bail out situation.
ALTERNATIVELY I could use another (better) setup like this:
small, say 7l tank on my back with Y-valve and two first stages/ two seconds
Large say 12l tank sidemounted with one regulator.
Strange but with a number of advantages. Look at it like the big sidemounted tank is your 'plane' flying you to your destination so far- so good. If anything happens you use the 'parachute' small tank (but redundant regulator) on your back. You can ditch the large tank, losing some weight in the process and proceed to the surface completely redundant.
One drawback is maybe finding your balance with such a big sidemounted tank.