Newbie Regulator question

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

mksmith713

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
I just don't log dives
I'm a newbie and was wondering if there's any real difference in regulators (1st,2nd,octo,etc) from today vs 20 years ago.
I'm looking at used equipment and find that older equipment that's been well maintained can be bought for about 1/8th the cost of new equipment.
Soooo, is there a huge benefit to buying new equipment?

I'm a newbie and was wondering if there's any real difference in regulators (1st,2nd,octo,etc) from today vs 20 years ago.
I'm looking at used equipment and find that older equipment that's been well maintained can be bought for about 1/8th the cost of new equipment.

The designs haven't changed much over the years, although some manufacturers have come and gone, so parts availability might be a problem.

Other manufacturers have been especially good about keeping parts available, like ScubaPro.

You can buy pretty much anything they ever made, and get it rebuilt today. My pony bottle reg is a Mk 1, (30 years old?) and breathes as good as any of my newer regs.

However you do need to make sure it was a good reg to begin with. If it was awful 20 years ago, it will still be awful after you have it serviced. Also, no matter what you buy or what the seller says (unless it comes with a service recipt from a shop you trust), have it serviced.

Terry

Is it safe to say that the bigger named manufacturers offer the best regs?