I panicked numerous times

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

cathyt

New
Reaction score
# of dives
Newbie here,

Just recently I went on a fun dive and had a very difficult time. This was the first dive without an instructor and my buddy is very new also. The dive site was a pond which was very murky and I could only see a foot or 2 in front of me. The depth was probably not even 40 feet, but each time I descended I panicked. I forced myself to stay down for a few minutes but was very uncomfortable (could not clear my ears, could not see, breathing very hard). I probably ascended too quickly a few times.

This really bothered me. Not only that I could not work through it but also that it happened at all.

I am trying to figure out how to equalize my ears better bc that is something that makes the descent uncomfortable, as for getting back in the water, there is another dive coming up the end of the month that I should attend. I think getting back in the water soon is important however, I was freaked out!

All suggestions are welcome.
Thanks in advance.

Take another class that will put you in with an instructor (be honest with the instructor about your feelings), especially good might be a buoyancy class.

Maybe you should find some experienced divers to go with you on your next trip. Being on the edge of panick is not a good thing-it is worse if your buddy is an inexperienced diver.

Did you have these issues in training and did you get certified in those lakes?