Votes: 4 7.1%
  • Not enough information

Votes: 3 5.4%
  • Other - please post in thread

Votes: 1 1.8%

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

crabbi

Reaction score
I am a noob PADI Open Water diver... just qualified last week actually.

I did my closed sessions and academic work at home and then went to a warmer location fro the open water dives.

Arrived Sunday; dives 1 and 2 Monday; dives 3 and 4 Tuesday... passed.

Prior to these dives, I had never dived in the sea at all, nor had I dived in a wetsuit.

The sea where I dived was extremely salty (tasted like battery acid!!) and I was using a shorty for the first time...

So ... what's the beef? Well, firstly, I had to use 12 kg of weight to descend and I was made to feel like a freak by the instructor (although subsequent conversations with divers has led me to believe taht the amount of weight needed varies enormously depending on variables such as body mass, salinity, experience etc...).

Next, and more significant, on dive 2, the instructor felt it would be helpful to pull me down, so he grabbed my leg and pulled me down to 6 metres. I had difficulty equalising and felt as if a knife had been stuck in my left ear... but with enough huffing and puffing I cleared the ear...

Next day was more straightforward, but I was getting a bit dehydrated (air temp 45 deg centigrade, water temp 27).