Troubles on a drift dive.

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Pauly854

Contributor
Reaction score
I had some problems this past summer on a drift dive. First off, this was my first ocean experience. I have been diving for several years, mainly quarries, and feel that I am very comfortable at depth. The dives were set up as groups of 4-6 people, with one towing a surface buoy. The first dive, another member of our group had the buoy. This was good, because I just wanted to enjoy my first ocean dive, and not worry about that thing. Plus, my 16 year old son was with us, and I wanted to keep very close tabs on him. The dive was uneventful, until we looked for the buoy guy, and he wasn't there! I had been keeping him in sight, and saw him about one minute earlier, but he was now gone. My son's air was at the point of heading up, so we got everyone's attention (surface as a group was the plan), gave another look around for our guy....then began to surface. We found him on the boat. He said he suddenly became buoyant, and couldn't stay down. He looked worn out from the effort, and I admit that I was a tad concerned about him for awhile. Nevertheless...that is when I became the buoy guy. It is a necessary job...that I never want again!