Equalizing and feeling dizzy

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Bert156

New
Reaction score
I've been diving for about two years but still consider myself a beginner - I have about 50 dives. During most dives at some point I will start feeling dizzying. It only lasts a few seconds, but it's still a pain. Usually the dizziness is during ascent but also happens during decent. What I've figured out is that I don't equalize often enough because me ears NEVER hurt. Without that pain feeling I forget to equalize and then it's to late and I get dizzy. My husband says if we dive (even in a pool) he can feel the pressure in his ears and knows he needs to equalize. I don't think I've ever felt that pain in my ears.

We've got a trip coming up in Dec and I'm wondering if anyone else has this problem and what they do about it. I went to see a ENT yesterday and she said everything was fine and I should take Claritin everyday starting a week before I leave for the trip.

Without that 'pain' feeling how am I suppose to remember to equalize? Anyone else have this issue? Any suggestions so I don't get dizzy all the time???