High END

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

strattST

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
500 - 999
Hi guys,

Sorry if this is in the wrong Forum.

I'm fairly new to diving (30-40 dives) and have just bought my first dive computer (D4i).

I've been messing around with the dive plan software and on one of the plans I made up theres a point where it says 'High END'.
I understand this to be the 'Equivalent Nitrogen/Narcosis Depth'... now then, the issue I have... I don't fully understand what it is!
I've been doing some searching on forums and Google to try and find out the answer but the descriptions are a little too technical for me! Could someone 'dumb it down' enough for me to understand?!

Cheers,
Chris

END is an attempt to measure the narcotic effect of a gas/depth combo relative to air.

So the END of a 100' (30m) dive on air is 100'.

But what happens if we add some helium to the mix? Lets say we dive a gas with 30% helium to 30m. Since there is LESS narcotic gas (o2 nad n2) in the mix, the new END is 18m.

Lets go deeper. 50m now, with the same 30% helium mix (o2% is for a different discussion), the END at 50m is equivalent to air at 32m. Upping the helium content to 45% drives the END down to 23m.

Helium is good, narcosis is bad. Helium makes narcosis go away.

If I had to make a guess, I'd say that whatever dive plan you're playing with has an END past about 30m or so, hence triggering the warning. Generally, ENDs greater than about 30m are suggested against.