Ear Drops for cave diving in Mexico ?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Corleone

Contributor
Reaction score
i have never done any cave dive before but in about a week or so i will be in Mexico, doing a full cave programe.

should i be worried about cave water getting into my ears? should i use some ear drops? or is it going to be alright?

I have ear problems (swimmer's ear) following cave dives in Florida. I use homemade 'ear beer' (half vinegar, half rubbing alcohol) which has been 100% effective for me. I keep a small bottle with an eye-dropper, lay with my head on one side, fill the ear, wait a few minutes, then do the other side. I find doing this once at the end of the day's diving works form me.

I think worrying about the cave water is the least of your concerns if you're about to go from zero to hero in cave diving.

EDIT: jerk was changed to hero

Last edited:
I would be more concerned about doing cave dives in Mexico, without any cave training. Than the water.

Even so 91% isopropyl alcohol in each ear will kill anything that might be left in there. I use it after each dive. Keep a bottle in my car.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

I agree. Your ears should be the least of your worries. Zero to hero is never good.

I would be more concerned about doing cave dives in Mexico, without any cave training.

They said they're doing a "full cave progamme", which I take to mean getting cave training.