New BP/W convert

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

gtto

Contributor
Scuba Instructor
Divemaster
Reaction score
# of dives
2500 - 4999
I am relatively new to this sport and after much back and forth, decided to buy a bp/w from DSS. All the locals thought I was crazy. "Too dangerous", "not enough flotation", "if they are so good why doesn't everyone use them" and all the other reasons. All I can say is that I made the right decision. It is amazing how uncomfortable and "primitive" they look in pictures. In reality, nothing is further from the truth. It was the first time I felt like I almost had nothing on during a dive. My trim was almost perfect. I was also worried about getting in and out of the harness but it was no problem at all. Actually, a piece of cake. There is also much talk about a wing causing the diver to be face down on the surface. I found that by just leaning back a bit I was more than comfortable and had no problems whatsoever. My thanks to Tobin for the great help and to all other advice from posters on this board. Gary

PS Now all the locals want to try my harness!!:crafty:

Turned you have, to the Dark Dide. Complete, your transition soon will be.

YodaDir.jpg