Dive Computer Suggestions

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

dougchartier

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
100 - 199
Hello,

I'm fairly new to diving (OW certified about one year ago) and am looking for a dive computer. I'd like one that has enough features such that it will offer what I'll need as I build up my skills and experience over the next few years. The Suunto D6 looks great, though the price is a little steep. Any suggestions?

Thanks in advance.

Doug

I would get an air-integrated (AI), nitrox-compatible computer.

I don't believe the D6 is AI. Even if it were, I'm not a big fan of the small display on those nice wrist-style computers. Something like a Vytec may be ugly, but at least I can see it underwater. The Vytec with wireless transmitter is one way to go, if you want something for your wrist. If you don't mind a console unit, a Cobra is not a bad way to go, and can save you some money (relative to the Vytec w/transmitter).

Which ever brand you choose, and their are many, look for the following options. User changeable battery, Nitrox compatible, and easy on the eyes underwater. Oceanic, Aeris, Sherwood and Genesis computers are all made by Pelagic and have similar features. Dive Rite, Tusa, Cressi-sub, and Zeagle all sell wrist mounted comupters that have the ability to program two gasses into the unit which would allow you to progress with your training and still use the same computer.