Octo or Second stage !!!!

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

tarekaly

Reaction score
# of dives
50 - 99
Hi,

I have a picture of an unknown diver that looks like that,

Did you notice both the second stage and the octo are both Aqualung Calypso/Titan Octo!!

I am new to diving But I need to know:

Is it OK to do that ??
Does Padi approve that ??
Should his Instructor warn him about that ??
Does the regulator manufacturers approve that ??

I need you to enlighten me
WHAT IS THE DIFFERENCE BETWEEN AN OCTO AND 2ND STAGE TECHNICALLY?

Last edited by a moderator:
On lower end or even just older regs, the octo tends to breathe like crap. My instructor has a handful of well taken care of octos and integrated octos....suffice to say I don't like them. Most newer and/or higher end (haven't been diving long enough to know if this has always been true) companies basically just put a yellow hose and purge cover on one of their second stages and call it an octo. Inside, they are the same. I can't view the picture, but it sounds like a diver was using two octos, one as their primary, one as their backup. Aqualung sells this reg as a primary second stage, and as an octo, the octo being exactly the same, just yellow. There is absolutely no prob with this, as long as his buddy is familiar with his setup.