100% new to diving

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

risius01

Reaction score
hello all my name is Scott. i am new to diving. as in ive never been. i have always wanted to get into diving. thing is i live in Iowa. i would like to find a place to get my class room work and pool work out the way in Iowa. unless it would be better to travel for all of it? after that then travel to do open water dives. hope to find some good guidance from this forum as in were to go and the steps to take.

So, I can't speak to all the possibilities/option.... I know there are many different agencies.
However, PADI, in my opinion has a good e-learning option. Google PADI. Check out the e-learning for open water diving certification. You will still need pool and open water dives. But, the e-learning process will accelerate everything.

You should be able to complete everything, at a reputable center, in a weekend. Some pointers:
1. if do e-learning, you get access to the course for 12 months. so go through it a few times to get real familiar.... and especially re-review before whatever weekend you are going to do your certifying training/dives/etc....
2. However you choose to do your training, look for reputable training center that has their own boats. There are plenty that have good charter contracts.... and I am not knocking them. But, the best situation is a training center that owns their own boat/s cause they can adapt the schedule and really customize according to the divers.