$2000 Camera Rig - help!

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Ozgarr

Registered
Reaction score
Hiii! :wavey: First post. Don't judge me for my newbish ways.

Anywayz. Buying a Canon rig around two grand, currently looking at s90. The idea was an ikelite housing with Ys-110a strobe package. However, to muddy the waters I'm a landscape photographer and shoot a 40d with 10-22 + 100 f28. To house it would blow my budget by another $1000, but would it be worth it...?

Appreciate the comments... :wink:

If your looking at spending $2,000 on a compact the Canon G12 would something worth looking into. If you want to house in an Ikelite housing then I would recommend that you also use a Ikelite DS strobe like the DS51 or if you can afford the DS160/161 as these strobe will give you TTL when connected to an Ikelite housing.

On the other hand finding a second hand housing for your 40D is possible and wouldnt be that expensive as you might think. Troll around and you could find a real bargain. I think this would be the way to go if I was in your shoes.

Regards Mark

I have a G11 in a Patima housing and one Inon D-2000 strobe and i'm very happy with it. It's a small, lightweight rig and it stays in a briefcase size pelicase perfect for carry-on on your dive trips.
The picture quality is more than good enough for advanced beginners and to gain substantial and visible picture quality will cost you much more than one grand.